• Sun. Apr 21st, 2024

10th Senate: Bamidele, Umahi, Ndume Emerge As Principal Officers

The Senate has resumed plenary this Tuesday with announcement of some officers to manage the affairs of the 10th senate.

Senate president, Senator Godswill Akpabio who presided over the sitting first welcomed members from the Sallah break and assured commitments to work for the interest if the majority

Shortly afterwards senator Akpabio announced the decision of the majority caucus that senator Micheal Bamidele from Ekiti Central APC as the 10th senate majority leader deputised by senator David Umahi from Ebonyi south APC

He also announced that senator Muhammad Ali Ndume from Borno South is now the chief whip of the Senate and senator Lola Ashiru from Kwara south APC is now the deputy chief whip of the red chamber.

The remaining four positions from the minority side comes shortly after the Senate had a short close door session

The Senate president further announced that the majority minority caucus announced their minority leaders as follows:

Senator Simon Davou from plateau north PDP has been unanimously agreed to be the minority leader, he is to be deputised by senator Oyewumi kamarudeen Osun west also PDP

Similarly senator Dalington Nwokocha from Abia central LP is announced to hold the position of minority whip followed by senator Rufa’i Hanga of NNPP Kano central as deputy minority whip respectively.

Bashir M