State Task Force Committee

From Usman MZ, Jigawa

Jigawa State Government has inaugurated a sixteen Member Task Force Committee for the implementation of a smooth handover of the Hadejia Wetlands National Park to Federal Government through the National Park Service.

Inaugurating the committee, the Secretary to the Government of Jigawa State, Alhaji Adamu Abdulkadir Fanini, enjoined them to discharge their duties with probity and fear of God, adding that their appointment was based on their individual experiences.

Represented by the State Head of the Civil Service, Alhaji Hussaini Ali Kila, the SSG said part of the terms of Reference of the Committee was to physically identify boundaries of the reserve and retrieval of encroachment areas including those allocated by the Local Government Councils.

Others are marking and fixing of beacons along boundaries to avoid future encroachment, identification of any physical assets or structures within the reserve, assessment of existing staff directly engaged in the reserve and any other recommendations that will positively impact the take-off.

Responding on behalf of the Committee  members, Chairman who was also the Permanent Secretary Administration and Finance SSG’s office, Alhaji Muhammad Dagaceri, thanked the State Government for appointing and finding them worthy for the assignment.

Members of the Committee are  representatives of Hadejia Emirate Council, Sarkin Fulanin Hadejia,  Alhaji  Abubakar Usman, Durbin Hadejia, Alhaji  Adamu Daudu Zakar and Deputy Director Nature Conservation from Ministry of Environment.

Similarly, the Field Officer from Ministry of Environment, Ismaila Sabo, District Head of Auyo Alhaji Umar Muhammad Baffale,  District Head of Baturiya, Dallatun Hadejia, Alhaji Sambo Ginsau and District Head of Kadira, Danmajen Hadejia, Alhaji  Haruna Abbas.

Other members include, Jigawa State Surveyor General, Alhaji Abdullahi Hassan, representatives from Ministry of Justice, Nigeria Police, Department of State Service (DSS) and Chairmen of Kirikasamma, Guri and Auyo Local Government Councils.