• Fri. Apr 19th, 2024

PDP Wins Bakura Bye Election In Zamfara State

Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), has declared Alhaji Ibrahim Tukur of PDP as the winner of the Bakura state assembly bye-election in zamfara state.

Announcing the result at the INEC office in Bakura, Chief returning officer Professor Yahaya Tanko Baba of Usman Danfodio University Sokoto said Ibrahim Tukur scored 23,874 votes and had met the requirements.

Professor Tanko Baba further stated that, Alhaji Bello Dankande Gamji of APC scored 16,546 votes
Which made him second in the race.

After the re-run, PDP secord 5,229 while APC got 82 votes which when put together with the inconclusive figures of December 6th, PDP secord 23,874 while APC scored 16,546 with a differences of 7,328.

The inconclusive state assembly election was earlier schedule to hold on Saturday 6th, 2020 but declared inconclusive by the former returning officer professor Ibrahim Magawata and INEC fixed Wednesday, 9th 2020, for the supplementary election.