• Sun. Apr 14th, 2024

Senate Confirms Appointment Of Service Chiefs

File photo of two newly confirmed service chiefs

The Senate has confirmed the appointment of Service Chiefs, nominated by President Bola Tinubu.

The confirmation was sequel to the consideration and approval of a motion by the Senate Majority leader, Opeyemi Bamidela (APC-Ekiti), on confirmation of the shortlisted service chiefs.

The Service Chiefs confirmed are Major General Christopher Musa, Chief of Defence Staff, Major General Taoreed Lagbaja, Chief of Army Staff, Rear Admiral Emmanuel Ogalla, Chief of Naval Staff and Air Vice Marshall Hassan Abubakar, Chief of Air Staff.

President Tinubu had on June 19 appointed the Service Chiefs and have since assumed duty, with this confirmation by the Senate, they would be sworn into their respective offices.