• Sun. Apr 14th, 2024

Speaker of the House Of Representatives Dr Tajudeen Abbas has announced the names of the Principal Officers of the 10th Assembly.

Announcing the names during plenary on Tuesday in Abuja, the Speaker said the Principal Officers for the majority party where endorsed by 143 lawmakers of the APC.

This according to him includes Professor Julius Ihonvbere from Edo state as the Majority House leader, Mr Halims Abdullahi from Kogi state as the deputy majority leader, Mr Usman Bello-Kumo from Gombe state as Chief whip and Mrs Onanuga Adewumi from Ogun state as deputy chief whip.

For the Minority principal officers, the Speaker announced Mr Kingsley Chinda of the PDP from Rivers state as the Minority house leader, Mr Ali Isa from Gombe state of the PDP as the Minority whip, Aliyu Sani Madaki from Kano state of the NNPP as deputy minority leader from Kano state and Mr Ozidonabi George from Anambra state of the LP as deputy minority whip.

The speaker who congratulated them, prayed God to give them the wisdom to discharge their duties effectively.

Principal Officers are the executive officers who would work together to shape the affairs of the parliament and the business of lawmaking. 

The Principal Officers also take critical decisions that pertain to the functions and activities in the parliament which could be legislative, administrative or bureaucratic.

They also interface with the executive, when the need arises, to ensure hitch-free governance.