Featured News

FEC Approves Establishment Of 20 Private Universities

Federal Executive Council (FEC) has approved the establishment of additional 20 private universities across the country.

The Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu, made this known while briefing newsmen on the outcome of the Council meeting, presided over by President Muhammadu Buhari in Abuja

Mallam Adamu Adamu, explained that the approved universities would get their provisional licences from the National Universities Commission (NUC), which they would use for the next three years while monitoring and evaluation would go on

The Approved Universities are; Topfaith University, Mkpatak, Akwa Ibom, Thomas Adewumi University, Oko-Irese, Kwara, Maranathan University, Mgbidi, Imo, Ave Maria University, Piyanko, Nasarawa State, Al-Istiqama University, Sumaila, Kano State

Also approved are; Mudiame University, Irrua, Edo, Havilla University, Nde-Ikom, Cross River, Claretian University of Nigeria, Nekede, Imo , NOK University, Kachia, Kaduna State, Karl-Kumm University, Vom, Plateau, James Hope University, Lagos, Lagos State

Others are; Maryam Abacha American University of Nigeria, Kano, Kano State, Capital City University, Kano, Kano State, Ahman Pategi University, Pategi, Kwara, University of Offa, Offa, Kwara, Mewar University, Masaka, Nasarawa State, Edusoko University, Bida, Niger, Philomath University, Kuje, Abuja, Khadija University, Majia, Jigawa and Anan University, Kwall, Plateau

Nine of the private universities are located in North Central, three in South South, two in South East, five in the North West and one in South West.

With the approval of additional 20 universities, Nigeria now has 99 private universities.