• Fri. Apr 19th, 2024

The Ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) has elected Abdullahi Ganduje, a former Governor of Kano State, as its new National Chairman during a party’s National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting.

Ajibola Basiru, a former Senate spokesperson, was also elected as the party’s National Secretary.

The election took place in Abuja, attended by prominent figures including President Bola Ahmed Tinubu, Vice President Kashim Shettima, members of the Progressive Governors’ Forum, and party members from the National Assembly.

Addressing the assembly, President Tinubu emphasised the need for the APC to fulfil its campaign pledges to Nigerians following their electoral victories, hailing the recently concluded elections as the finest in Nigeria’s history.

The previous National Chairman of the Party, Senator Abdullahi Adamu, and Senator Iyiola Omisore, the Secretary, resigned from their positions in July.