The federal government says it has embark on building the capacity sugarcane farmers modern techniques of community based seedcane production ,aimed at providing the needed raw materials for sugar production in the country.

The minister of Agriculture and Rural Development Alhaji Mohammad Mahmoud Abubakar stated this during the opening ceremony of a two day capacity building training for small holder sugarcane farmers on community based seedcane production for northwest and northeast states , held in Kano.

Represented by the Desk Officer Sugarcane Value Chain Sama’Ila Garba Shiko said the training will go along way in boosting the production of the raw material for sugar production in the country.

“As you are aware, one of the major challenges of Sugarcane production in Nigeria is access to production inputs most especially quality seedcane which has being responsible for low yield in sugarcane production. “

“Therefore, capacity building of smallholder sugarcane farmers on Community-based Seedcane Production is indeed crucial as it will no doubt strengthen your ability to produce sugarcane at a scale that could potentially help the country close the deficit in both domestic sugarcane and sugar production.”

The minister maintained that at the end of tho training programme, each participant will be provided with a set of input package, including ten (10kg) certified seedcane, two (2) litres each of Liquid Organic Fertilizer, Herbicides and Insecticides as part of renewed ongoing support by the Ministry.

In a remark the Director of the ministry in charge of Kano Abba Gana Yamani urged the participants to explore the opportunity by utilizing the experience they will acquire and ensure that they step down the training.

Rukayya Abubakar from sokoto and Aliyu Isa from Gombe were Among the participants of the training, they applauded the commitment of the federal government for organizing the capacity building training and assured their commitment to enhancing sugarcane production in Nigeria.

The beneficiary states include, Kano, Kaduna, jigawa, Kebbi, Sokoto, Katsina, Zamfara, Gombe, Adamawa, and Taraba States.

Abdullahi Jalaluddeen/Kano