From Abdullahi Jalaluddeen

The incumbent President of the Nigerian Guild of Editors, NGE, Mustapha Isa has been re-elected as the President of the guild for the next two years.

Isa defeated his opponent, Victoria Ibanga after polling 176 votes against Ibanga’s 54 votes.

The Chairman, Screening and Election Committee, Bonnie Iwuoha announced the election results

VP (East)

Samuel Egbala – 132 votes (Winner)

Sheddy Ozoene – 88 votes

VP (West)

Bolaji Adebiyi – 132 votes (winner)

Ken Ugbechie – 80 votes

Assistant General Secretary

Austeen Elewodalu – 126 votes (winner)

Rose Moses – 82 votes


Steve Nwosu – 150 votes (winner)

Catherine Agbo – 51 votes

Juliet Njiowhor – 26 votes

Social/Publicity Secretary

Eze Anaba – 164 votes – (winner)

Chooks Oko – 53 votes

Standing Committee members


Gabriel Akinadewo – 174 votes (winner)

Onuoha Ukeh – 174 votes (winner)

Wole Sogunle – 172 votes (winner)

Abimbola Tooki – 61 votes


Umoru Ibrahim – 202 votes (winner)

Adesina Gbenga – 113 votes (winner)

Imoni Amarere – 99 votes

Radio Nigeria reports that those returned unopposed were the Deputy President, Ali M. Ali, Vice President (North), Kila Habibu Nuhu, General Secretary, Iyobosa Uwugiaren as well as standing Committee members (East) Nguwoke Nguwoke and Boma Nwuke respectively.