File photo of President Muhammadu Buhari

The Federal Government has announced another phase of COVID-19 restrictions across the 36 states and the Federal Capital Territory (FCT).

A member of the Presidential Steering Committee (PSC) on COVID-19, Dr Mukhtar Mohammed who made the announcement on Monday said the new directive will kick off from midnight onTuesday, 11th of May.

With the restrictions imposed, mass gatherings in public spaces have been restricted to 50 people and access to government institutions would also be denied to anyone not wearing a face mask while government meetings and travels have been limited to the virtual platform.

According to Mohammed, bars and nightclubs remain closed and the nationwide curfew will be in force until further notice.

He stated that only essential international travels would be encouraged, and all existing protocols must be strictly adhered to.

Mohammed added that intra-state travel would not be limited.