Eight more local governments have been selected by UNICEF in Jigawa State to participate in the Open Defecation Free Programme.

The selected local governments imclude Gumel,Babura, Maigatari, Hadejia, Malam Madori, Ringim, Kirikasamma and Kazaure.

Speaking at the occasion to mark the selection of the additional local governments at the Conference Hall of the Ministry for Water Resources, the state Commissioner of Water Resources, Alhaji Ibrahim Garba Hannun Giwa urged the Chairmen of the local governments to fully cooperate with traditional rulers and other stakeholders to ensure that the mission was accomplished.

Hannun Giwa who was represented by the Permanent Secretary of the Ministry, Engineer Gambo S Malam, explained that the state is now in leading Nigeria in the Open Defecation Free Programme.

According to him, fourteen local governments are now open defecation free.

In his speech, the UNICEF representative said the organisation selected the additional local governments into the programme because of the zeal of the state government to fully embrace the programme.

Also speaking, the ALGON Chairman, Alhaji Aminu Sani assured that the chairmen of the selected local governments would leave no stone unturned to ensure the full success of the programme in their respective areas.

Radio Nigeria reports that Jigawa State has a total of 22 local government areas participating in the Open Defecation Free Programme. 

Usman Mohammed Zaria