From Bello Wakili

Vice President, Yemi Osinbajo, is currently presiding over the Federal Executive Council (FEC), his second since President Muhammadu Buhari’s trip to the United Kingdom for routine medical checkup.

A minute silence was observed in honour of Mahmud Tukur, a former minister of commerce and industry.

Permanent Secretary, Ecological Funds Office, Mrs. Habiba Lawal, standing in for the Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Boss Mustapha, , said Tukur died Friday in Abuja, at the age of 82.

Tukur served as minister during the military government of Muhammadu Buhari.

The 41st virtual FEC meeting, had four ministers physically present in the Executive Council Chambers of the State House.

Lawal who announced his passage to cabinet members, recalled his various services to the country.

Meanwhile, the Chief of Staff to the President, Ibrahim Gambari, and the National Security Adviser (NSA), Major-General Babagana Monguno (Rtd), are in attendance.

The ministers in physical attendance include the Attorney General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami, Information and Culture, Alhaji Lai Mohammed; and Finance, Budget and National Planning, Zainab Ahmed and th Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba.

The Head of Civil Service of the Federation, Dr Folasade Yemi-Esan, as well as other members of Council joined the meeting virtually.