The Nigeria Centre for Disease Control-NCDC has confirmed 187 new cases and 9 deaths of coronavirus, bringing the total infections to 161,261.

This was contained in an early-morning tweet by NCDC on Thursday.

Itt noted that the cases were reported in 18 states, while the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) recorded no new infection.

The states include, Lagos with 42 new infections, followed by Taraba-29, Edo-17, Abia-13, and Rivers-11 new cases.

Others included Kaduna-10, Katsina-9, Oyo-9, Kwara-7, Plateau-7, Ondo-5, Bayelsa-4, Cross River-4, Ogun-4, Osun-4, Akwa Ibom-3, Borno-3, and Nasarawa-3.

With this latest figures, confirmed cases is now 161,261, the death toll is 2,027, with 146,395 people discharged.