The United Kingdom has added Ethiopia and Somalia to a red list of countries from Africa where travel to England is banned.

The travel bans which will come into effect on Friday from 04:00 GMT is meant to reduce the risk of new variants of covid 19 entering the UK, according to a statement from the Department for Transport.

Those exempted are only British and Irish citizens or those with residence rights who will be allowed to enter and must stay in a government-approved facility for 10 days.

The two countries now join other
African nations already on the list including Angola, Botswana, Burundi, Cape Verde, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Eswatini, Lesotho, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Rwanda, Seychelles and South Africa.