From Adamu Yusuf

Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria Alumni Association has elected new officials to run its affairs for the period of 3 years.

The election was keenly contested during their association’s 14th General Assembly held at Kongo Conference Hotel, Zaria.

The Association elected Architect Ibrahim Sani Khalil as it’s National President.

The newly elected National President Ibrahim defeated Alh. Abubakar Ladan from Kebbi State branch with a total votes of one hundred and seventy against one hundred and fifty three.

While Mr Mathew Okechukwu was elected as the Vice President South East with one hundred and eighty votes while his opponent Mr. Jeff Nsubodu scored one hundred and ten votes.

Adamu Mamman Kontagora won the
Deputy National President with two hundred votes defeated
Prof. Sunday Ogunduyele who got one hundred and twenty four votes.

In his inaugural speech, the newly elected National President of ABU Almuni Association World Wide, Arc. Ibrahim Sani Khalil said the art of giving back shall be the guiding principles for growth and development of the institution in his administration.

He said the National Executive Council and the National Consultative Council were among the arms of running the association and such role would be enhanced and not be eroded.

The National President also assured of mobilizing students to understand the rudiments of the alumni association in order to develop themselves for the future.

His words “Documentation of all activities especially recommendations and approvals in respect of the finances of the association shall follow due process and international best practices as Abu site is always ahead. He said.

” Alumni’s relationship with directorate of the university advancement, a good and healthy relationship shall be maintained with a view to the expansion and developmental needs of the institution”.

Arc, Ibrahim Sani Khalil, further assured that the financial activities of the association would be synchronized with international best practices for transparency and accountability.

Other officers who returned unopposed in the election are Barrister A. A. Irogalachi as Legal Adviser, Mr. Sam Agbi Treasurer, Mallam Danjuma Muhmud as Public Relations Officer, Magaji Abubakar Mato as Internal Auditor.

Others include Prof. Maryam Aminu Assistant Secretary General, Arc. Lawal M. Yusuf as Secretary General while
Mr. Lanre Ahmed Olanrewaju is the Vice President North Central,
Pharm. Ali Gajerima Vice President North East and Alh. Aliyu Mohammed Anka Vice President North West.

Prince Ovanramren Samwonyi is the Vice President South South,
and Dr. Ibrahim Hassan – Vice President International Branches, while Barr. Lateef Abdulsalam Vice President South West.