PR Bello Wakili, ABUJA

President Muhammadu Buhari has accepted the immediate resignation of the Service Chiefs, and their retirement from service.

According to a statement signed by the senior special assistant to the president on media and publicity Femi Adesina, those involved are the Chief of Defence Staff, General Abayomi Olonisakin; Chief of Army Staff, Lt-Gen. Tukur Buratai; Chief of Naval Staff, Vice Admiral Ibok Ekwe Ibas; and Chief of Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar.

The statement stated that President Buhari thanks the outgoing Service Chiefs for what he calls their “overwhelming achievements in our efforts at bringing enduring peace to our dear country,” wishing them well in their future endeavours.

It noted that The new Service Chiefs are: Chief of Defence Staff,Major-General Leo Irabo; Chief of Army Staff, Major-General I. Attahiru; Chief of Naval Staff, Rear Admiral A.Z Gambo; and Chief of Air Staff, Air-Vice Marshal I.O Amao.

The President congratulates the new Service Chiefs, and urged them to be loyal and dedicated in the discharge of their responsibilities.