Members of the Gombe state House of Assembly have impeached Alhaji Abubakar Sadiq Kurba as the speaker of the House.

The impeachment followed a vote of no confidence passed against him by the members.

Radio Nigeria Kaduna gathered that 16 out of the 24 members signed the impeachment notice that led to the removal of the speaker who was replaced by Alhaji Abubakar Muhammad representing Akko Central.

Also removed was the House Majority Leader , Mr Samuel Markus and was replaced by Mr Yerima Ladan representing Kaltungo East.

Addressing newsmen after the impeachment, Chief Whip of the House Mr Musa Buba said the poor handling of the House affairs was what led to the removal of the former speaker.